Wed. Jan 27th, 2021

More Zoom users than ever tricked into downloading malware – make sure you’re not next

2 min read

We will use your email address only for sending you newsletters. Please see our Privacy Notice for details of your data protection rights.

Zoom’s popularity has boomed during the current health crisis and that’s probably not surprising. With millions of us being forced to stay at home, this video platform has become a much-needed way of keeping businesses connected and family members in touch with one another during the lockdown.

However, with so many people now using Zoom it’s become an obvious target for cyber criminals who are increasingly using fake links to try and trick users into handing over personal data or download vicious malware onto their PCs.

According to a recent report from the Better Business Bureau, scammers registered a whopping 2,449 zoom-related web domains in the spring alone.

These fake addresses look almost identical to the real thing and are used to lure unsuspecting users into revealing personal data.

Often sent out as part of an email or WhatsApp scam, the cyber criminals will post a message that claims a users’ Zoom account is about to be suspended.

To stop this happening, they are then encouraged to follow a link which appears to have come from an official Zoom account.

Once clicked, the criminals will attempt to extract personal data such as email addresses, users names and passwords which can then be used to access Zoom profiles or target other accounts.

It’s also thought that malware is being spread by some of these fake Zoom emails with users often unaware that the email they’ve just opened has infected their machines.

Speaking about this latest threat, Ray Walsh, Digital Privacy Expert at ProPrivacy., “For many of us, video conferencing on Zoom is now an everyday occurrence be it for work calls or just keeping in touch with family and friends, unfortunately, cybercriminals are doing their utmost to cash in on the situation.

“Zoom users need to wary of the latest Zoom phishing scam currently circulating. The scam tricks users into following a false link, either in an email, text or WhatsApp message stating that their Zoom account has been suspended. Unwittingly victims click on the link and provide their account information which results in their login credentials and passwords being stolen and could cause their device to be infected with malware.

“The Zoom scam appears to be a legitimate notification from Zoom that informs the user that their account has been temporarily deactivated and is in need of reactivation, but although the email looks genuine, it is a phishing email designed to trick users into following the dodgy link, so it is essential that users do not follow the link in the email and instead delete it at once.”

If you receive any emails claiming to be from Zoom and suggesting that your account is about to be suspended please ignore it and place it straight in the bin. 

Source: Read Full Article